Free plans

Free email marketing software in 2026: plans compared by their limits

Updated Data checked September 29–30, 2026Compiled by the Which Email Tool editorial teamSources ↓

Free plans compared: subscribers and emails

Nine of the 14 tools in this comparison have a free plan. Moosend, Constant Contact, ActiveCampaign, Campaign Monitor and RD Station offer a trial only. One of the nine needs a caveat: AWeber’s free plan is described in its help docs, while its pricing page now shows only a trial.

Free plan limits as published by each vendor. Checked September 29–30, 2026.
ToolSubscriber limitEmailsVendor branding in emailsNotes
Kit10,000UnlimitedYes
SendPulse50015,000 / monthYes5 automation flows, 3 sender addresses
Brevo100,000300 / dayYesunused daily sends do not roll over
AWeber5003,000 / monthYesdescribed in AWeber’s help docs; its pricing page now shows only a 14-day trial
GetResponse5002,500 / monthYes
MailerLite2502,500 / monthYes
Mailchimp250500 / monthYesalso capped at 250 sends a day
Omnisend250500 / monthYes
Klaviyo250500 / monthYes250 active profiles; includes $5 of mobile messages a month
MoosendNo free plan — 30-day free trial
Constant ContactNo free plan — free trial only
ActiveCampaignNo free plan — free trial only
Campaign MonitorNo free plan — 30-day trial limited to 500 contacts and 500 emails
RD Station MarketingNo free plan — 10-day trial, no card required

Brevo holds the most contacts and caps sending by the day. SendPulse holds a small list and has the highest monthly allowance of the capped plans. Read both columns before choosing.

Not covered here: Sender, EmailOctopus, HubSpot and beehiiv. Their limits are not in our data yet.

The most generous free plans in this comparison

Three plans lead, each on a different count.

Kit

Largest list with no email cap here
Free plan
10,000 contacts, unlimited emails
At 1,000 subscribers
$39/moCreator
At 10,000 subscribers
$139/moCreator
Emails on Creator
unlimited emails

Kit’s free plan covers 10,000 contacts and unlimited emails. It is the one to start on if you expect the audience to grow long before it earns money. The catch is in the features. Kit’s free plan leaves out the visual automation builder, automated email sequences, RSS campaigns, app integrations and removal of Kit branding; those start on Creator. The first paid tier is $39 a month, the highest entry price in this comparison.

Strong points

  • Free plan covers up to 10,000 subscribers
  • Built for creators selling digital products and subscriptions

Limits

  • Highest entry price here: the smallest paid tier covers 1,000 subscribers
  • No messenger chatbots or pay-as-you-go option listed

Kit pricing page ↗

SendPulse

Most emails of the capped plans here
Free plan
500 contacts, 15,000 emails/month
At 1,000 subscribers
$18/moStandard
At 10,000 subscribers
$78/moStandard
Emails on Standard
unlimited emails

SendPulse’s free plan covers 500 contacts and 15,000 emails a month: enough to mail a full list several times a week, with automation (the table below has the limit) and round-the-clock chat and email support. The list limit is the tight part. Once the list outgrows it you move to a paid plan, from $18 a month at 1,000 subscribers. Free emails carry SendPulse branding. SMTP, chatbots and the course builder have free allowances of their own.

Strong points

  • Email, SMS and chatbots for WhatsApp, Telegram, Instagram and Messenger run from one account
  • Standard plan includes unlimited emails at every list size
  • Separate free tiers for SMTP, chatbots and the course builder

Limits

  • Free plan stops at 500 subscribers and keeps SendPulse branding in emails
  • Pay-as-you-go email credits expire after 12 months
  • SMS is billed per message on top of the plan; none is bundled
  • Chatbots beyond the free allowance are a separate paid plan
  • A dedicated IP is listed only for the SMTP Pro and Enterprise plans

SendPulse pricing page ↗

Brevo

Most stored contacts here
Free plan
100,000 contacts, 300 emails/day
Priced by
Emails sentnot by list size
5,000 emails a month
$18/moStandard
20,000 emails a month
$69/moStandard

Brevo’s free plan covers 100,000 contacts and 300 emails a day. The list can be large; the daily limit is what you feel. A newsletter to a list no larger than the daily limit goes out in one day, and anything bigger is split across days. Automation is included for a limited number of contacts, and transactional email shares the same daily limit. The large storage belongs to the free plan only: the smallest paid tiers hold far fewer contacts, so look at the paid table before counting on it.

Strong points

  • Priced by emails sent, which suits lists that are mailed rarely
  • Prepaid email credits never expire
  • Transactional email and SMTP included on every plan

Limits

  • The 100,000-contact storage belongs to the free plan; the smallest paid tiers store far fewer contacts
  • Free plan sends only 300 emails a day
  • The bill rises with every extra send, so it cannot be compared with per-subscriber plans without knowing how often you mail
  • Telegram is not listed; WhatsApp sits on the Professional plan

Brevo pricing page ↗

Free plans with the highest subscriber limit

By list size the order is Brevo (100,000 contacts), then Kit (10,000 contacts), then SendPulse, GetResponse and AWeber on the same limit (500 contacts). MailerLite, Mailchimp, Omnisend and Klaviyo allow 250 contacts.

A high subscriber limit helps only if the plan also lets you mail those people. Kit does. Brevo spreads a large list over many days.

Free plans that send the most emails

Kit has no cap. After it come SendPulse (15,000 emails a month), Brevo (300 emails a day) and AWeber (3,000 emails a month). Brevo’s place assumes you send the full daily allowance every day, about 9,000 emails in a 30-day month; a single campaign cannot exceed one day’s allowance.

MailerLite and GetResponse allow 2,500 emails a month. Mailchimp, Omnisend and Klaviyo allow the fewest, 500 emails a month: two emails to a full list in a month.

Automation, forms and support on free plans

Free plan features as stated on each vendor’s pricing or help pages. “Not stated” means the page does not say. Checked September 30, 2026.
ToolAutomationForms and landing pagesSupport
KitNot includedUnlimited forms and landing pagesEmail
SendPulse5 flowsSubscription forms; landing pages are a separate product24/7 chat and email
BrevoIncluded, for up to 2,000 contactsSignup forms; no landing pagesEmail
AWeber1 automation1 landing page, sign-up formsNot stated
GetResponseOnly during the first 14 days1 landing page, 1 form or popupChat and email for the first 14 days
MailerLite3 automations, 5 steps each3 forms, 1 landing page, 1 websiteCommunity only
MailchimpNot includedForms and landing pagesEmail for the first 30 days
OmnisendIncluded; custom workflows are paidUnlimited forms, landing pages24/7 chat and email
KlaviyoIncludedWeb formsEmail for the first 60 days

Six of the nine include some automation. Kit and Mailchimp keep it for paid plans, and GetResponse switches it off after the first 14 days. Support is where free plans differ most: SendPulse and Omnisend state round-the-clock chat and email, MailerLite offers its community only, and Mailchimp, Klaviyo and GetResponse give support for a limited time after signup.

What free plans leave out

  • Your own branding. All nine put the vendor’s logo or badge in free emails; removing it is a paid feature.
  • SMS. No free plan here bundles SMS with the email plan, apart from a small monthly credit for mobile messages on Klaviyo’s free plan.
  • Other channels. SendPulse and Brevo have a standing free allowance for transactional email; MailerLite’s sits in a separate product. A free chatbot allowance is listed only by SendPulse among these tools.

When a free plan stops being enough

A free plan ends in one of four ways: the list passes the subscriber limit, the monthly emails run out, the vendor’s logo has to go, or you need a feature kept for paid plans. The table shows what the cheapest paid plan then costs at the two smallest list sizes.

Cheapest paid plan of each tool, regular price per month with monthly billing. Sorted by price at 1,000 subscribers, the largest size shown; the lowest price in each column is marked. Checked on official pricing pages, September 29–30, 2026.
ToolPlanPrice at 500 subscribersPrice at 1,000 subscribersEmails included
MoosendPro$9$16unlimited emails
RD Station MarketingLight$181,000 tier$185× contacts per month
SendPulseStandard$12$18unlimited emails
ActiveCampaignStarter$191,000 tier$1910× contacts per month
GetResponseStarter$191,000 tier$19unlimited emails
MailerLiteComfort$12$1910× contacts per month
OmnisendStandard$16$2012× contacts per month
AWeberLite$15$2510× subscribers per month
MailchimpEssentials$13$26.5010× contacts per month
Constant ContactLite$12$3010× contacts per month
KlaviyoEmail$20$3010× profiles per month
KitCreator$391,000 tier$39unlimited emails
Campaign MonitorLite$13$475× contacts per month

Brevo is priced by emails sent, so it has no single price at a list size and is not ranked above. We compare its Standard plan. Starter costs less at the same volume but stops at 100,000 emails a month, limits automation to 2,000 contacts and keeps the Brevo logo unless you pay to remove it. The tier is set by emails sent and by stored contacts: the three smallest tiers hold 500, 1,500 and 2,500 contacts, and every tier from 20,000 emails up holds 500,000. Standard stops at 500,000 emails a month. Your tier is the first one that covers both the emails you send in a month and the size of your list.

Brevo, price per month, monthly billing; contact allowances as printed on its pricing page. Checked September 30, 2026.
Emails per monthStandardStarterContacts included
5,000$18$9500
10,000$35$171,500
15,000$49$252,500
20,000$69$32500,000
30,000$79$39500,000
40,000$89$46500,000
50,000$97$56500,000
60,000$104$65500,000
80,000$119$74500,000
100,000$139$82500,000
150,000$179—500,000
250,000$249—500,000
350,000$309—500,000
500,000$429—500,000

Kit is the example of a generous free plan with a costly first step: the largest free list with no email cap here, then $39 a month on its first paid tier. MailerLite is the reverse: a small free plan, then $12.

Which one to choose

AWeber and GetResponse hold a bigger list than MailerLite but are not picks here. GetResponse’s automation and support end after the first 14 days, and AWeber’s free plan no longer appears on its pricing page.

  • KitYou are building an audience first and want thousands of subscribers on a free plan with no email cap.
  • SendPulseYour list is still small and you mail it often, or you also want free SMTP, chatbots or a course on the same account.
  • BrevoYou have a large contact list and send small batches, or you need transactional email on a free plan.
  • MailerLiteYou want automation, forms and a landing page on a free plan from an email-only tool, and more emails per subscriber than Mailchimp allows on the same list limit.

Frequently asked questions

Which email marketing service has the best free plan in 2026?

It depends on what runs out first. Of the nine free plans compared here: for list size with no email cap, Kit (10,000 contacts and unlimited emails); for emails per month on a small list, SendPulse (500 contacts and 15,000 emails a month); for a large list mailed a little at a time, Brevo (100,000 contacts and 300 emails a day).

Which free email marketing plan allows the most subscribers?

Of the nine plans compared here, Brevo stores the most contacts (100,000 contacts), but it caps sending at 300 emails a day, so one campaign reaches only part of a big list per day. Kit is next with 10,000 contacts and no email cap. The other seven stop at a few hundred subscribers; the table has each limit.

Which free plan sends the most emails per month?

Among the nine plans on this page, Kit has no cap on emails. Of the capped plans SendPulse allows the most: 15,000 emails a month. Brevo allows 300 emails a day, which comes to less than SendPulse's allowance even if you send every day, and a single campaign cannot exceed one day's limit. AWeber follows with 3,000 emails a month.

Is there a free email marketing plan with automation?

Yes, with limits. Of the nine compared here, six include automation on the free plan: SendPulse (5 flows), MailerLite (3 automations, 5 steps each), AWeber (1 automation), Brevo (included, for up to 2,000 contacts), Omnisend (included; custom workflows are paid) and Klaviyo, which states no limit. Kit's and Mailchimp's free plans do not include it, and GetResponse allows it only during the first 14 days.

Do free email marketing plans add the vendor's logo to emails?

Yes, all nine compared here do. Each vendor's pages say free emails carry its logo or badge, and removing it is a paid feature.

How long can a small business stay on a free plan?

Until the list or the monthly emails pass the limit. The three smallest plans here (Mailchimp, Omnisend and Klaviyo) allow two emails a month to a full list, which is a trial in practice. A plan that lets you mail the whole list every week, or one that holds thousands of subscribers, can carry a young list for months.

Sources

Every price and limit on this page comes from the vendor’s own public pages. How we choose and check.

Not sure where to start?

Put in your list size and see what each tool would charge you this month.

Open the calculatorHow we choose